dairy-free living update

20 Aug

I went an entire month without consuming any dairy. No milk, no cheese, no sour cream… I even avoided all breads and other packaged foods with whey or nonfat dry milk listed as ingredients. And I have to say, I felt really good. For the first time in a long time, I went an entire month without major digestive problems or abdominal pain. I visited Oregon’s Willamette Valley last week, which is usually a surefire way for me to get an allergy-induced headcold, but amazingly I was not congested at all. Coincidence?

Yesterday was test completion day. I ate a dinner consisting of fries smothered in cheese and bacon, with buttered bread at Texas Roadhouse. Yes it was delicious, and yes it made me feel terrible afterward. I couldn’t eat very much of it without feeling bloated and slightly nauseous. Later that evening, the stabbing lower abdominal pain returned. This morning, I feel bloated, sluggish and gassy. The abdominal pain continues, and I’m suffering from a lot of sinus congestion and throat mucous. I have a headache.

All that just from eating some cheese. Wow. Now I know.

5 Responses to “dairy-free living update”

  1. Jackson August 20, 2010 at 7:58 am #

    Wow Ramey,

    that’s like going from off the couch to 5.12+ R dairy!

    It’s funny, I bought my first gallon of milk in like a year right before seeing your blog. My stomach seems to be pretty durable though, or I’m just not so astute in connecting eating patterns to conditioning, but I seem to take dairy ok, although I don’t eat very much of it.

    I think it would be hardest for me to give up whey protein, just because the soy stuff gives me horrendous gas.

    anyway, keep it up!

  2. mvtiani August 21, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    Wow that’s great you went a whole month without dairy. That’s kind of what I’m trying to do all next month (I’m going to try out being vegan). I already don’t really drink milk, but I think it will be hard staying away from products that have dry milk/whey ingredients. Do you have any tips or brands that you would recommend?

    • ThisAmericanDiet August 21, 2010 at 9:56 am #

      Believe it or not, it was easier than it seems! Some of my favorite non-dairy snacks include sea salt pita chips with hummus (yum!), and garlic/onion soy crisps. An easy meal to make that is delicious and vegan (other than the ones listed on my blog already): use a jar of Patak’s Jalfreezi simmer sauce with sautéed onions, zucchini and cooked potatoes, and serve over jasmine rice. So delicious! I think the most important part is to avoid a lot of the highly-processed pre-made vegan foods. Stick with whole foods and your system will be happier for it. Go online and look up vegan recipes, use lentils and chickpeas liberally, and enjoy the adventure of cooking new foods! I’ll be interested to see how your month experiment goes. Remember to be flexible, patient with yourself, and focus on all the things you CAN eat on a “restricted” diet. 😉 As for me, I’m going back to a no-dairy lifestyle.

      • mvtiani August 21, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

        Thanks for the advice! Yeah I want to try and stay away from relying on processed pre-packaged stuff, I probably can’t afford to anyway!

  3. lizlivingvegan August 24, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    I definitely feel better after going vegan. I was already a vegetarian, so I guess the change was dairy. I noticed a lot less break outs on my skin, and less bloating in my tummy. As much as I love cheese, I think the no-dairy thing works for me!

Leave a Reply

